• Twitter’s testing out a new feature that shows people a warning message if they try to share an article without first clicking on the link.
  • The new prompt is being tested on Android users for the time being, Twitter announced Wednesday.
  • It’s one of several features Twitter’s rolling out as part of a broader attempt to improve the quality of discourse on the site.
  • Visit Business Insider’s homepage for more stories.

Did you even click on the article?

If the answer is no — and you try to tweet the link to an article you haven’t opened — Twitter might gently suggest that you read the article before posting.

Twitter is testing out a new feature that will show a warning message to anyone who tries to retweet an article without clicking on it as part of an effort to “help promote informed discussion,” the company announced Wednesday.

“Sharing an article can spark conversation, so you may want to read it before you Tweet it,” the announcement reads.

—Twitter Support (@TwitterSupport) June 10, 2020

It’s one of the latest measures Twitter has taken in recent months to more actively steer discourse on the app. In May, Twitter unrolled new features that let people select who can reply to their tweets in an attempt to reduce flame wars between users.

The site has also taken on a more aggressive fact-checking role as of late, adding warning labels to misleading tweets about coronavirus and even fact-checking President Donald Trump.

It’s not clear whether Twitter plans any wider rollout for its prompt urging people to read articles before sharing them.

Read More